Simple Smoothie Bowl

I grew up drinking smoothies as a kid and they were always so simple and delicious. Nowadays, I add anything and everything to my smoothies! I like to keep frozen fruit in the freezer just in case I need a sweet snack. Using frozen fruit and just a bit of liquid creates a frozen yogurt texture. So, instead of serving my smoothie in a glass, I sometimes serve it in a bowl and add whatever fixings I have.

I like having a smoothie bowl for breakfast because it’s not super filling and it’s refreshing on a hot day. However, I made the below bowl last night for us as a late night snack while binge watching Game of Thrones (I’m a newbie to this show, believe it or not!) Hope you enjoy!

 

IngredientsIMG_2356

  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

Fixings

  • coconut granola
  • sliced almonds
  • hemp seeds
  • chia seeds
  • pineapple chunks
  • peanut butter
  • Anything you want!

 

 

  1. In a blender, combine the frozen fruit with a bit of almond milk and blend on a slow speed. Start with a few pieces, then add more as the fruit begins to soften.
  2. Feel free to add more almond milk if you feel like the fruit isn’t churning.
  3. Put your “nice cream” in a bowl and add all the yummy toppings you have!
  4. Enjoy while watching your favorite show :)

Happy Saturday peeps!

☮ Nydia

Leave a Reply

