3-Day Juice Cleanse

Cleansing. Why would anyone try a cleanse? Well for starters, it detoxes your body, ridding your system of refined sugars, animal products, and processed foods. Each serving of juice gives you vitamins, minerals, and calories, allowing you to stay alert and energized all day even while fasting. You will lose weight without starving yourself, and let’s face it, that’s pretty awesome. Juicing will also give your digestive system a break and it’s also very hydrating. And last but not least, it’s not expensive and you get to try new and favorite fruits and veggies in many different ways.

As you may know, I love juices and smoothies. I have one almost everyday and it really helps me get all the nutrients I need. I would rather drink my veggies than eat a salad. With that said, I came across a three day juice cleanse from this website and I decided to try it out. I liked how simple the cleanse was presented. It didn’t seem overwhelming or intimidating. I’ve always wanted to try a cleanse, but I figured it would take way too much time and effort out of my day. But I’m here to tell you that it really isn’t difficult and I’m so glad I did it.

If you’re really interested, keep reading. You’ll find the list of ingredients I used, the recipes I tried each day, and also my routine for the next three days.

Shopping List:IMG_1972

  • 20 granny smith apples
  • 12 cucumbers
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 1 bag of grapes
  • 6 bunches of kale
  • 1 fist size of ginger root
  • 1 bag of celery
  • 6 lemons
  • 3 beets
  • 6 carrots
  • 2 limes
  • 3 oranges
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 3-6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 bunch of basil (~20 leaves)
  • 1 bag of spinach

 

Things to remember:

  1. Each day, before consuming any juice, drink a cup of warm water and lemon. I simply sliced a sliver of lemon and tossed it into my water. Doing this will help flush your digestive system.
  2. Do not eat any solid food while on the juice cleanse. If you become hungry at any time after drinking your juice, feel free to have another one. You should consume anywhere between 4-6 juices per day consisting of 16-20 ounces each.
  3. Drink at least 16 ounces of water after every juice and throughout the day. I know this seems a lot, but just like eating a meal, you’ll get thirsty for water and it will assist in flushing out your digestive system.
  4. Exercise. Choose whatever you like and incorporate it within your cleanse schedule.
  5. Stay positive and motivated! Tell your roommate, partner, friends and family that you’ll be starting a juice cleanse, so that they don’t try to tempt you with pizza :)
  6. Lastly, have fun with this. The below recipes are the ones I chose from the website above. But feel free to add or subtract fruits and veggies to make it more appealing to your taste buds.

 

Jolt Juice

2 Apples
1 Orange
1 Cucumber
1/4 Lemon Peeled
4 Kale Leaves

Mean Green

1 Apple
1 Cucumber
4 Stalks of Celery
6 Kale Leaves
1/4 Lemon Peeled
1″ Ginger

Sunset Passion

1 Beet Sliced
1 Cucumber
1 Carrot
1 Apple
4 Kale Leaves
1/4 Lemon Peeled
1/2 Lime Peeled

Morning Glory

2 Apples
1 Cucumber
1 cup Blueberries
2 cups of Grapes
2 Kale Leaves
1″ Ginger

Bruschetta Tang

2 Tomatoes
1-2 Garlic Cloves Peeled
1 Bunch of Basil (20 Leaves)
1/2 Lemon Peeled

Green Machine

4 Kale Leaves
2 Apples
2 Cups Spinach
1 Cucumber
2 Celery Stalks
1 Med Carrot
1″ Ginger (not in picture)


For the first two days, I found it easier to make the same juice twice. A regular mason jar will not hold the entire juice, so I had to use two. If you have large enough jars, even better! But make sure to store in a sealed glass container. I didn’t mind chopping everything before I made each juice, because I had the time. However, if you work early and need to prep beforehand, separate your fruits and veggies for each juice and place in a large Ziploc bag for easy handling.

3-Day Schedule:

Day 1

  • 9am – Warm water & lemon
  • 10-11am – Yoga
  • 12pm – Jolt Juice
  • 3pm – Jolt Juice
  • 6pm – Mean Green
  • 8pm – Sunset Passion

Day 2

  • 9am – Warm water & lemon
  • 12pm – Morning Glory
  • 3pm – Morning Glory
  • 6pm – Yoga
  • 7pm – Bruschetta Tang
  • 10pm – Green Machine

Day 3

  • 9am – Warm water & lemon
  • 10-11am – Yoga
  • 12pm – Jolt Juice
  • 3pm – Mean Green
  • 7pm – Green Machine
  • 9pm – Sunset Passion

 

On day four, I checked the scale and was surprised to see that I had lost 5 lbs. I only had four juices each day and a lot of water. I took about 45 minutes to an hour to enjoy each juice. I didn’t feel much hunger throughout the cleanse at all. I did not suffer from any headaches or cravings either. But, every body is different and we have to listen to ourselves. If you do have a headache or crave solid food, make yourself another juice. You can do it!

Following the juice cleanse, it is important not to indulge in just any type of food. For breakfast, try a fruit bowl. For lunch, have a simple salad with lemon juice as dressing. For dinner, enjoy steamed veggies. Keep your meals for the next couple of days light and continue to drink a lot of water. Your body will tell you how hungry you are. Listen to yourself.

Happy juicing!

☮ Nydia

 

Disclaimer: If you are on medication or have health concerns, please consult with your doctor before trying any type of cleanse.

 

Leave a Reply

