Spicy Tofu & Potato Curry

I’m slightly obsessed with curry dishes. Every color, all day, everyday if I could. It’s all about how they’re prepared and all of the incredible and delicious spices that are used. Now I’m no curry expert, by all means, but I have enjoyed cooking up some curry dishes.

During this transition to veganism, I find myself searching for new recipes almost everyday. I’ve tried new spices and veggies that I never knew I would and I love how much more time I’m spending in the kitchen. I sure do love to cook! We’ve been eating curry at least once a week and this recipe has been my favorite so far. I adapted the recipe from here. Let’s get cooking!

Note: I like my food really spicy and the ingredients called for chili paste. I instead used chile peppers for an extra kick.

Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

2 large potatoes, cut into cubes

1 block organic firm tofu, cut into cubes

3 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 yellow onion, finely diced

1 rib celery, finely diced

2 carrots, sliced into thin rounds

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp yellow curry powder

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp cumin

1 tbsp chili paste or 2-3 red diced chile peppers

2 cans light coconut milk, or 1 can and 2 cups vegetable stock

Nutritional yeast

Salt to taste

(Optional: add 2 cups of baby kale)

Directions:

  1. Heat 2 tbsp coconut oil in a large skillet. Sauté potatoes for just a moment, then lower the heat and cover potatoes. Cook on low until tender.
  2. Add cubed tofu and turn up the heat to about medium. Cook until the tofu is crisp and golden. Set the tofu and potatoes aside. IMG_1787
  3. In the same skillet (or another), heat the rest of the coconut oil. Add the onion, celery, and carrots. Cook for several minutes until the onion becomes transparent. Add the garlic and cook for another minute.
  4. Add the curry powder, turmeric, cumin, and either chili paste or the diced red chile peppers. Cook for about 2-3 minutes, stirring often.
  5. Add 2 cans of coconut milk, tofu, and potatoes. (Or add 1 can of coconut milk and vegetable stock)
  6. Add salt and generously sprinkle nutritional yeast over the curry. I used about 1/8 cup. Mix and let everything simmer for about 10-15 minutes.
  7. Feel free to adjust the seasoning.

IMG_1794

Serve this curry over quinoa or jasmine rice and garnish with chopped parsley. It’s also really yummy to have with a side of garlic naan. Enjoy!

☮ Nydia

 

Leave a Reply

