Hello… It’s Me!

I’ve taken a bit of a vacation from posting a blog. Actually, it’s been way too long! Here’s a recap of what I’ve been up to :)

1) I graduated from my 300 hour yoga teacher training! I am officially qualified at the 500 level and am registered with Yoga Alliance as an RYT 500. What an incredible year spent with amazing and kindhearted souls. I am so thrilled to begin this journey! I consider myself a forever student, however, the tools I gained and all of the beautiful knowledge given during this training, will be so beneficial to me in the future. I have so many goals that I plan to accomplish in the next couple of months, so wish me luck!

2) We took a three week road trip and visited a bunch of new and amazing places and reconnected with some of my favorite people. We decided on a road trip because the price to fly to New Mexico from Florida costs as much as flying to Europe. Why? I have no freakin clue. But we also chose this option because we love road trips and this would allow us to discover new places and see how many car games we could play without getting bored. This trip was definitely one for the books! I’d also like to mention that William thoroughly enjoyed his visit to many new trees and meeting lots of new dog friends.

First, we drove to New Orleans and indulged in the famous Cafe Du Monde beignets and coffee. We checked out as much as we could, but we only stayed for a day, so I’m hoping to hit up NOLA again soon.

Once our sugar high subsided, we traveled to Houston, where we stayed with my best friend and her hubby for a couple of days. Lots of bar hopping, food eating, and reminiscing. Houston is so cool! It’s always a blast with these peeps and they are the best hosts.

Lastly, we traveled another 13 hours from Houston to New Mexico, where we stayed and hibernated for two weeks at my mama’s house. And guess what? It snowed on Christmas and I haven’t seen snowfall in years! I was so excited. I enjoyed spending the holidays with my family who I miss so much! And not to mention, we ate a ton of yummy food. I hope to be back home very soon.

We headed back to Florida after the New year. Our first stop was in San Antonio to visit one of my good friends. It was cold and gloomy, but we made the most of it and checked out downtown and The Alamo. San Antonio has a lot of great restaurants by the way, and we were lucky to check out a few. It was a great couple of days and it was so nice to reconnect with my pal, who I hadn’t seen in a few years. I think we’re starting to really like Texas too.

We made our trek through Texas (again), and 8 hours later, we stopped in a small town in Mississippi called Bay Saint Louis. I loved it there! We enjoyed our stay at a beautiful and quaint B&B. Don’t you just love B&B’s? I sure do. Especially when you have the whole house to yourself :) We spent the entire day checking out the beach, all of the shops, and restaurants. If you’re ever in Mississippi, you have to check this place out. However, you may want to go in the spring or summer, because January is quite chilly! Also, if you’re into oysters, Omer thoroughly enjoyed them and even found a black pearl in one of them!

Our final route back to Florida took us through a terrible rainstorm. Luckily, we grabbed coffee and played car games the entire way home. I’m so thankful we were able to take a break from reality and spend three weeks on the road.

3) I decided to become vegan. I KNOW! I’ve been a vegetarian for 11 years and decided that for my New Year’s resolution, I would eliminate dairy from my diet. My mother eliminated dairy from her diet, and things really changed for the better. So, I decided to give it a try. It’s been about a month since my transition, and I’ve got to say that it’s been a bit of a challenge.

For example, for breakfast, I’m an eggs and potatoes kinda gal. I also love Mexican food (i.e. quesadillas, tacos, enchiladas, chile rellenos, etc.) I also love our wine and cheese nights. I’ve tried my absolute best to find substitutions, but I’m not going to lie to you, it’s not the same. I’m hoping that as the time passes by, and I’ve learned to make more dishes, dairy will no longer be a “necessity.” Besides, I know the effects of dairy on the body and that’s enough for anyone to give this a try.

I’ve really enjoyed making tofu scrambles for breakfast, so I have the eggs and potatoes thing covered. But, I am trying to focus more on plant based meals that do not involve dairy substitutions. I would love any feedback and input as to how my fellow vegans made the transition. I know this will be good for me, so I am really giving it my best.

I’m so happy to back on the blog train! I am really looking forward to sharing my most recent recipes and life adventures with you all. Enjoy your week!

☮ Nydia

Leave a Reply

