Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Hey peeps! I came across a simple recipe on making peanut butter energy bites. I changed a few ingredients and they turned out great! These little guys are healthy and packed with nutrients and are perfectly fine to have as a quick snack. Plus, this recipe makes about 24 bites, so it’s totally worth it!

Fun Facts: Steel cut oats have fiber, lots of iron, and are good for protein intake. I used organic unsalted crunchy peanut butter, which is a fantastic way to add protein to your diet. I also used raw, unsweetened shredded coconut, which is full of potassium. Almonds of course add more protein to the mix while giving you the healthy fat our body needs. Chia seeds have fiber, protein, calcium, and a bunch of other fantastic nutrients. You all know how much I love my chia seeds! I hope you enjoy this protein filled treat.

Ingredients

1 cup steel cut oats IMG_9073

1 cup crunchy peanut butter

2/3 cup toasted shredded coconut

1/3 cup chopped almonds

1/3 cup honey or agave

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tsp vanilla

My ingredients are from Trader Joe’s and Native Sun, but feel free to grab them wherever you’d like :)

First, I began by toasting the shredded coconut in a small pan for about 5 minutes. Stir frequently as coconut can burn rather quickly. Once you see that the coconut is toasted to your liking, place on a plate and set it aside. Next, I chopped the almonds (I used sliced almonds and chopped them up, but you can buy them already like that). Lastly, combine all ingredients into a big bowl. This is where it gets good! Feel free to mix up the ingredients using a spatula, but I found that using my clean hands to mash it all up worked better.

IMG_9071     IMG_9074

Once all the ingredients are mixed well, cover the bowl in saran wrap or a lid and place in the refrigerator for 45 minutes to an hour. This will help the mixture stick together. When the time has passed, remove the bowl from the refrigerator. Use a regular spoon to scoop up the mixture and roll into small round bites. I went ahead and placed them one by one in the container I wanted to store them in. They did not stick together once I was finished.

IMG_9077     IMG_9080

Feel free to snack on these while you make the others or save them for later :) Enjoy!

☮ Nydia

Leave a Reply

