Simple Summer Sandwich

Happy Monday! I’m here to talk about sandwiches. Now, I’m a vegetarian, so finding a delicious sandwich in restaurants can be difficult. Nobody wants a sandwich with just lettuce and tomatoes right? Well what if I told you that you can add crunchy peanut butter to a sandwich full of veggies!? Sounds crazy, but oh so yummy.

A couple of years ago, as I sat in traffic, I heard a nice story on NPR about a sandwich tradition. You can find the story here. It was a short and sweet story about a woman who shared a special summer tradition with her father. Not only did I love the story, but I also found the sandwich itself a little interesting. That same day, I told my boyfriend about this story and we went to the market to get the ingredients we were missing. I had to try it!

Ingredients:

4-6 thin slices white cheddar cheeseSummer Sandwich 1

Tomato, thinly sliced

Cucumber, thinly sliced

Red Onion, thinly sliced

2 tbsp crunchy peanut butter

2 slices whole grain bread

Now the trick to this sandwich is that you have to layer the ingredients in the order given above. Eat with the cheese on top and the crunchy peanut butter on the bottom. The only thing I did differently was toast my bread. I like the added crunch!

Summer Sandwich 2   Summer Sandwich 3

And there you have it! I don’t know what it is, but the crunchy peanut butter really turns it up a notch. This sandwich is full of flavor, especially when the ingredients are fresh. It’s definitely a must try! Enjoy :)

☮ Nydia

One thought on “Simple Summer Sandwich

Leave a Reply

