Cauliflower Steaks

We made cauliflower steaks! I never knew how flavorful cauliflower is. Growing up this veggie was not my favorite. I thought it was boring and had a funky taste. When I became a vegetarian, over 11 years ago, I made it my mission to try out the veggies I wasn’t so fond of. There were only a few, but nonetheless I made sure to introduce them into my diet. And now, cauliflower has made it to my “love” list of vegetables! I’m still hoping eggplant and celery will make it to that list, but we’ll see. So let’s talk about these steaks. I actually found this recipe on Mind Body Green, one of my favorite websites. We tweaked the recipe a bit and left out the dairy it asked for. Here’s what we used:

Ingredients: Cauliflower 1

  • One head of cauliflower
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 cup of whole milk (we didn’t use)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Preparation:

Preheat your oven to 350°F.

Carve two thick slices from the middle of the cauliflower, cutting through the stem end. Rub olive oil on each slice and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Set these aside.

Cauliflower 2  Cauliflower 3

Cut the remaining cauliflower into florets to measure about 3 cups. Combine the florets and water into a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Sprinkle salt and pepper. Cook the florets until they are very tender. Strain, and reserve about 1 cup of the cooking liquid. Here, you can either transfer the florets to a blender or use a hand blender (that’s what I did) and add half of the liquid and blend until it becomes a smooth puree.

Cauliflower 4  Cauliflower 5

Heat your large skillet with olive oil and cook the cauliflower steaks until they are golden brown on each side. Then, transfer the steaks to the oven and bake until tender, about 10-15 minutes.

Rewarm the cauliflower puree. Divide the puree into two plates and top each with a cauliflower steak. We enjoyed the steaks with a side of garlic green beans, but you can have this as an appetizer before your main course.  Cauliflower 6

I really loved this recipe. It is simple and doesn’t take much effort to cook. However, I could understand why milk would be added to the florets because it would then give it a more fluffy mashed potato like texture, but I don’t drink milk so we left it out. Nonetheless, without the milk the texture was smooth and to me it still resembled mashed potatoes. Either way is good! Enjoy :)

☮ Nydia

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Steaks

Leave a Reply

