Morning Beach Yoga!

I have been contemplating the idea of beginning my own yoga classes. As you may know, I live near the beach, about 25 yards away. I love it. I love it so much. I’m originally from the desert in New Mexico, so being just steps away from the ocean has been a longtime dream of mine. But, we won’t get into that just yet. I normally practice yoga in my home “studio,” which is just a spare room that I’ve dedicated to yoga, painting, and crafts. I’ll turn on my twinkle lights, roll out our mats (because my boyfriend partakes), and play some funky jams. It’s a beautiful way to begin the day or a great way to unwind from the day.

Once and a while, I will take my mat to the beach and practice. I certainly don’t mind the seagulls flying over me, the waves crashing, the salty breeze, and I don’t even mind the small ants that crawl all over me. It’s incredibly peaceful.

Beach Yoga

So guess what? I decided to begin my own morning yoga beach classes! I post the classes on Meetup and people can RSVP or simply show up. I also make sure to provide all necessary information regarding the class, proper paperwork, what to expect, etc. My first weekend to host these classes happened two weeks ago. And let me tell you, it was a hit! I couldn’t believe how many people showed up. I was deeply humbled and full of gratitude towards these amazing people! I was very happy with the outcome and cannot wait to lead another class this weekend. I met a bunch of great people and hope to see them again soon.

This is simply the beginning. I intend to teach beach yoga as often as I can. I am currently busy some weekends due to 300-hour teacher training, weddings, and vacations. BUT, on the weekends I am free, I will roll out my mat and enjoy sandy yoga with my community. One day I will open up my very own yoga studio, but until then, the beach will be the place I share my love of yoga with others.

Neptune Beach 1   Neptune Beach 2

☮ Nydia

One thought on “Morning Beach Yoga!

Leave a Reply

